Articles, Blog

Basketball Penalties and Their Signals : Signaling a Charge in Basketball

December 9, 2019


DAVE TYLER: Charging is an offensive violation
when the dribbler runs over or run–perhaps stops and makes a pass and then runs over
a defending player who’s already situated. This is one of the most difficult calls for
an official to make because the opposite of a charge would be a block. So an official
has to make a call in a split second of his judgement if the dribbler was out of control
and ran the defender over or if the defender moved his feet at the last second to get in
the way of the offensive player. The proper mechanic for a charge is, again, stop the
whistle, right hand goes behind and then you’d point the way that the team going with the
ball would go. We’re going to see a couple of different examples here of a charge. Here–first,
we’re going to see a charge where the dribbler just simply comes in and runs over the defensive
player who’s situated and he runs over the defensive player. In that situation, we have
a charge. We have a whistle and then point to the way the ball would be going. The other
situation here is a block where the–just the opposite of a charge, where the dribbler
is coming around and he–at the last second, he tries to get in front of him. There we
have his feet were never set so the official would call that a block and the ball would
go to side out. There we have a block where his feet–the defensive player’s feet are
moving. Once again, you see the big difference is the charge is when he runs him over, basically.

You Might Also Like

11 Comments

  • Reply bainsey89 January 4, 2009 at 5:33 am

    It's a myth that you must be "set" to take a charge.

    Yes, you have to start with two feet on the floor and facing your opponent. That's legal guarding position. Once legal guarding position is established, though, you CAN move laterally or obliquely to draw a charge. You can even jump straight up, because you're allowed to guard your spot from the floor to the ceiling.

    Being "set" doesn't hurt, but it's not a requirement.

  • Reply Antonz4 April 28, 2009 at 9:37 pm

    Spot on. It's a myth that you have to be "set".

    Such bad practice.

    As long as you're in your legal guarding position, you can move backwards or even laterally (as long as contact occurs not as a result of your lateral movement)

    Easy.

  • Reply manelle333 January 11, 2011 at 8:18 am

    The call is correct. It is a player control foul because a charge is under that kind of foul, so you can call it either way – as a player control foul or as a charge.

  • Reply edwardteach2 July 20, 2011 at 10:40 pm

    6 people disliked this video because they can't take a charge.

  • Reply Start Develop Finish September 24, 2011 at 10:51 pm

    See more plays like this startdevelopfinish

  • Reply Start Develop Finish September 24, 2011 at 10:52 pm

    Start Develop Finish (dot) com

  • Reply hilbertp May 16, 2014 at 3:47 pm

    Horrible explanation that is based on the old myth that the defensive player needs to have his feet set. In reality, the defensive player needs to establish legal defensive position only. It is absolutely irrelevent if his feet are moving, if he is in the air or not. It all revolves around legal or illegal defensive position.

    Please do your homework before uploading crap videos like this….

  • Reply Tony C September 23, 2014 at 7:34 pm

    Where did they get this little league ref?  His explanation couldn't be more incorrect.  Your feet can be moving as a defender if you have established legal guarding position and have maintained it.  

  • Reply Jason C November 16, 2014 at 1:57 am

    As 15 people have stated, you can be moving and take a charge as long as legal guarding position was established. Rule of thumb for a charge is chest to chest. Shoulder to shoulder is a block. Also, you do not need to point the direction you're going. A player control foul is offensive, so we know it's going the opposite direction. The referee in this video stated a charge would be running the defender over or running them over after a pass. First part is correct, second is wrong. If the player controlling the ball passes, then runs a defender over, it is a team control foul, not a player control. The proper mechanic for that would be closed fist to stop the clock, signal a push foul, then a punch for team control signal.

  • Reply Andrew Schaffer November 19, 2016 at 7:32 am

    Exactly… Terrible explanation and terrible mechanics.. Same arm.. Foul, prelim, and direction… What a goof

  • Reply Fran Enjem January 2, 2019 at 4:11 pm

    A defender does NOT have to have his/her feet set to draw a charging foul. The defender is allowed to move lateral, backwards or obliquely , with shoulders square to the offensive dribbler. If so, the offensive dribbler is obligated to go around the defender, not through them.

  • Leave a Reply